Thread: My oil smells like gasoline

Default My oil smells like gasoline

I finally got around to changing out my 2007 Yam 75 oil and I noticed a gasoline odor, it was fairly strong - enough to notice with my face 3 feet away from the drip pan I was using.

I dont believe its supposed to smell like that, I took a sample and am planning on bringing it to the mechanic at Deweys (where I bought it) for a sniff test.

It runs just fine though, I'm no expert but I believe for it to smell that gassy I'd have to blown a ring - which I would think would make it run crappy.

Any ideas?

Default how full was the crankcase

Did you check the dipstick before draining the motor? Was it over full? Did you try to ignite a small quantity of the oil? Is the oil runny or thin?

Have you been idling alot lately or slow speed?
    How old is the thermostat?
    Change the oil and do not fill full. About 3/4 is good to see if you are making oil.
    Make sure you run the engine hard every so often to get it hot enough to burn the gas out of the oil when you are idling/slow speed.
    It is all over the net about the making oil in 4-strokes.

Is it fuel injected? If so you might have a leaky injector.sitting all winter the fuel from a leaky injector will find its way to the crank case and build over time....

I am not 100% sure of this, but I think it is pretty normal to have some fuel in the oil. As I recall when I have had oil tested in the past they will report on the amount of fuel that is in the oil. If the amount is excessive, it is an indicator that the motor is running too rich.

Jim

Default concur

I concur w/ both Badrive and Drdave!

These big engines aren't made for running long periods @ low RPMs, and I could see how a fuel injector may leak down thru the cyl. (long storage)

research "making oil" on the IBOATS.com forum.

put some fresh oil & filter in it and go have fun

Thanks! I was pretty worried there for a bit.