Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shooting small diameter arrows

Default Shooting small diameter arrows

I am just getting started with bowhunting and I have a stupid question...I went to go pick out some arrows at Sportsman's and realized I had no idea what I was looking at and asked the guy behind the counter for help. Since then, I've read up on it alot more and I think I'm somewhat more knowledgeable, but what they guy gave me was a set of 6 CX Edge 250 arrows, that are a very small diameter. First off I realized that the regular 100 grain field points I had were too big for it (based on what a chart on the box said - if the diameter of the point was larger than the diameter of the arrow, it said you shouldn't use it...) so I bought some 75 grain field points and those fit ok. So my question is, what do I do when I need broadheads, and do they make special narrow diameter ones or does it really matter? Also, I was reading in my book and it says that most good broadheads are in the 100-125 grain range. Won't that be a problem since I've been practicing with 75 grain tips? I'm assuming you don't keep two sets of arrows, one for practice and one for hunting but rather just use the same arrows but switch to broadheads when the time comes? Or should I just scrap the whole small diameter arrow thing and just get regular arrows? My goal is to take the IBEP test this year and ultimately go hunting for caribou up on the Haul Rd, but first I need to figure out what kind of setup I need! I don't have anyone here to teach me or ask questions or anything so I've just been reading books and practicing like mad every night since the start of this week, when I finally got back from the field and had some time to set everything up. Thanks for your help everyone.

You are correct, in that you want to practice and hunt with the same weight heads. I'm sure you will be able to find broadheads for your arrows. Just make sure your heads are within legal specs.

Default Arrow Selection