Thread: How often do you guys clean your dies?

Default How often do you guys clean your dies?

I was doing some high volume case preparation this weekend, and I got to thinking that I hardly ever clean my dies. It's true. I've been reloading many different calibers for over ten years, and I can count on one hand the number of dies that I have cleaned. Worse yet, this past year I bought a Dillion progressive press that I have been using to turn out hundreds of rounds in a single reloading session...and I've not cleaned a single die on the case head.

I'm a pretty conscientious reloader, so I have to ask...am I remiss in not periodically cleaning my dies? How often do you guys clean your dies? How do you decide they need cleaning? How do you clean yours? I have used GunScrubber with the few that I cleaned.

Thanks in advance,

Doc

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

To be honest, I've only cleaned my dies when they gave me trouble.

Sometimes I get lube in the seating dies from seating cast bullets.

Or, maybe lube build-up in a sizing die.

Smitty of the North
    Walk Slow, and Drink a Lotta Water.
    Has it ever occurred to you, that Nothing ever occurs to God? Adrien Rodgers.
    You can't out-give God.

I don't really "clean" them, e.g. no solvents and what not involved, but I do swab them out with a Q-tip on a semi-regular basis ...just to keep grit and other stuff out of them, and I do examine them before use. That's it.

Brian

Quote Originally Posted by tananaBrian View Post
    I don't really "clean" them, e.g. no solvents and what not involved, but I do swab them out with a Q-tip on a semi-regular basis ...just to keep grit and other stuff out of them, and I do examine them before use. That's it.

Brian
    Same here, just wipe them out when I set up.
    Andy
    On the web= C-lazy-F.co
    Email= Andy@C-lazy-F.co
    Call/Text 602-315-2406
    Phoenix Arizona