Thread: Family Fish gear lost/stolen....

Default Family Fish gear lost/stolen....

Just want to put something out there to the people responsable for the dissappearance of ALL my family's fishing gear. I run a bait station for black bear near the East Fork Chilitna River and sometime between 10:00am and 6:30pm on Fri the 29th, someone picked up 4 fishing poles, my tackle box, frame pack, and a knife that I had leaning against some alders along the bank of the river. My stand is 1/2 a mile away and on our way to our evening hunt at 6:30, my daughter and I seen where someone picked up our gear. I have been hunting the area for OVER 15 years and had never seen a sole all though it is a popular place in the summer time for fishing. I left the gear so me and my family can fish durring the slow times of hunting. I realize that I should have "hid" the gear a little better but I have never had problems in the past and also we are constantly hiking back and forth several times a day past the river to get back to camp from my stand. I could see thru the trees that a red pick up pulled into the gravel pit that morning and heard people talking but I paid no attention. They also could see us and our fire so I doubt that someone "found" my gear as no one came asking us about it. Anyway I would just like to ask anyone that "found" some gear, that it belongs to me, my wife and 2 young girls. It is all the fish gear that I had and now have to replace along with explaining to my nine year old about dis honest people and also having to admit to her that I should have done a better job at protecting our stuff. Thanks for reading...

Default Sorry to hear that.

Seems like an awful lot of theiving going on lately. Hope you recover your gear Steve.

Default I can help a little