Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hewescraft--question for Hewescraft owners

Default Hewescraft--question for Hewescraft owners

This is about boat speed.
    I have a used hewescraft 26' Alaskan with twin 115 Yamahas (seems to be the norm). They run great. I question the speed though. Are Hewescraft boats slow? I have been running them at 4500rpm's and doing about 23 kn according to the GPS. WOT does about 30 kn. Is this normal for these boats? I'm fine with the speed if that's typical, but it seems slower that other boats in a 26 foot class.

Default weight is always an issue

when it comes to speed. I have a 26' pacific cruiser with twin 115's and a156 gal fuel tank, radar rack, raft, extra kicker ,grill, and all kind of stuff plus people and my top speed was 40 kts. in Kachamak Bay (tide assist). That was 07'. I haven't seen that speed since. I don't think it's the boat. I'm no expert but I think everything runs better on new plugs. I hope you enjoy your boat as much as I've enjoyed mine. Be safe.

Default slow...

I have the same set up and hitting over 35 mph is not hard. I did do 42 mph my first year. I usually run 20 to 25 mph. When was your last tune up?

I have an 07 Pacific Cruiser with twin 115's. Those numbers seem right and really close to what I'm running. Keep in mind a knot is 1.15 miles so 23 knots is almost 27 mph.

Quote Originally Posted by AK Wheels View Post
    my top speed was 40 kts.
    Really? Do you mean miles per hour because 40knts is about 46 mph. Upper 30's seems reasonable light. Just my opinion.
    Spending my kids' inheritance with them, one adventure at a time.

Quote Originally Posted by wildog View Post
    This is about boat speed.