Thread: Best for Floats, Skis, tires?

Default Best for Floats, Skis, tires?

What would you say is the best all around plane that does it all? Tried to look at some old posts and didn't have much luck. Keeping the budget under say 65K.

Super Cub, but you would not find a decent one with floats, skies, and tires for $65k. There has been a Super Stinson with an 0-470 for sale with floats for $55k I think for quite awhile. I haven't seen it personally but I have heard the Super Stinson's perform well. Otherwise you would have to go to a PA-11 or something around that range.

Shane

I forgot to mention a PA-12. A good plane and you might find a decent one in your price range with all the goodies.

Shane

It also depends on just what you want to do with it. I have been flying assorted types of Cubs for a couple decades and they have some drawbacks. While Cubs are nice for bush work, they have limitations such as very limited internal room, fairly low crusie speeds and burn a lot of gas per mile compared to some faster birds.
    Whenever I am flying a Cub it seems like all the business calls come in for multi -person tourist trips. If I am flying a Spam Can, they seem to want one person on a duck pond...

Some of the spam can type aircraft can make up for their long take-off and landing runs by hauling more junk, faster and further.

It depends on what you think you need to do with it.

Hauling one goat hunter at a time to some ridge-line 4 wheeler trail? Then a Super Cub or modified PA-12 is your ticket.

Hauling two or three people and all their junk out for a bear viewing trip? Maybe a C-180, 185 or way better yet a Helio Courier on Floats would be the way to go.

For lots of room at an OK price, it is hard to beat an old Aeronca Sedan on floats. They have a back seat like an old British Taxi-Cab.