Thread: New To AK and Boating and Looking For A Boat

Default New To AK and Boating and Looking For A Boat

I'm looking at purchasing a boat a sometime this summer, the thing is I'm not really sure what style to get. I've been in AK for a year and absolutely love it and want to experience more of it. I have very little boating experience so I'm looking for a safe boat that will be reliable for both rivers and lakes. I plan on using the boat for fishing and hunting and will most likely stay in the smaller rivers but would like to hit some of the larger lakes for both hunting and fishing. The boat would be used for mainly 2 people but occasionally up to 4. I know my wish list is long but I'm really just trying to get an idea of what I need and what my price range will be so that I can start counting the pennies and working on the wife to loosen the purse strings. As of right now I'm leaning towards a 14' semi-v with a 25 hp outboard.

Jon

A 14' semi-v with a 25 hp outboard will limit you to lakes and a few deep-slow rivers. It will also be tough to fish four people or take hunting gear few more than day trips. There are a ton of threads here on what boats are good for what and a few that address multi-purpose boats. I would recommend that you think really hard on exactly what you want to do and where you want to do it. If river running and hunting over multiple days is what you really want to do, then I would recommend an 18 jet boat, at a minimum for four folks and gear. There are so many out there, that you should be able to find one that you like and that you can afford. Look for one with a good amount of free board with you what to use it on big water as well. Boat shopping is a ton of fun, good luck and make sure that you try out as many as possible before you buy. Bigger boatitis is a truly dangerous disease and not many people are immune.