Thread: gulkana ?

Default gulkana ?

could I take my 8 yr old with me down this river in a canoe? he's begging to go, he is a great swimmer but I have never done the trip and I am a little gun shy on this as any parent would be. also Im not a pro by any means in a canoe, I have done alot of slow moving water and lake runs. and we would defintley go around the rapids. any help would be apperciated. -will

Default Depends

I'd honestly say to stay away from the Gulkana from Paxson to Sourdough. I've seen a lot of "experienced" guys wrap canoes at the canyon and below it on rocks. I'm a rafter, but from what I've seen it is tricky in a canoe with all of the sleepers, and boulders. You're much better off doing the Sourdough to Richardson bridge, granted it's not as remote or scenic. If it was just you and another adult, I'd say go for it, but with an 8 year old, that water is fast below the canyon, where you're most likely to encounter problems. Hope that helps some.

I agree, although I'm admittedly a poor canoeist. For several miles after the canyon, there are a lot of rocks, and class 2 whitewater.

it sounds like you don't have the skills to do the gulkana out of paxson. the seriousness of the white water depends on water level. but, even at low levels it is VERY easy to wrap a canoe in the rapids below the canyon. i think it would be EXTREMELY foolish to tackle this river with your kid given your skill level.