Thread: Pike Lures

Default Pike Lures

I've been chasing Pike down on the peninsula this weekend. I was wondering if anybody had any good ideas on weedless lures. I have tried the floating mice and frogs from Fred Meyer. I am seeing tons of fish in the weed beds but just can't get them to go after the frogs or mice. When I can see them on the edge I throw a vibrax, daredevil or something else which seems to work. I'm pretty new to the pike fishing thing so info is welcome from people up north who fish them more regularly.

Thanks
    Jacob

you're on the right track...keep doing what you're doing, they're just a little sluggish this time of year...what I do when they don't bite is shoot 'em with an arrow........PM Mthayer, he's new to the peninsula and is already finding success with the pike down there...
    ------------------------------------------------
    pull my finger....

I like to run a Johnson's Silver Minnow with a MrTwister Split Double Tail Grub as a trailer.

I use either a Gold or Silver Johnson's with a white grub as my go to setup for pike. I thread the body of the grub onto the spoon more than is depicted in the picture. The grub will curl slightly around the bend ot the hook.

The Fusia show's up better in the picture.

Default pike

well i have fished for a lot of pike up in fairbanks and have caught a lot on plastic worms. if you can see them put on a 6 or 8 inch worm with a worm hook and no wieght flip it up there and hold on. they will nail it. what i do is use a 24 inch leader of like 40lbs test instead of a steel leader. also i like using regular spinner baits with a big willow and a smaller colorado blade. either buzz it right on top to make a wake or slow roll it. well hope this helps and post pics love lookin at pics here in the desrt to bring back a little of alaska that im missing.

matt

Default Info good