Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Walking into Bait Station, what do you do?

Default Walking into Bait Station, what do you do?

This is my first year bear baiting, let alone bear hunting, and I just recently set up a bait site. I was walking into my station today(bears are starting to "hit" it, slowly) and I spooked a few blackie cubs out of a tree within 200 yards of my bait site. I started making noises and yelling as to get the bears away from me, didn't want the sow to go after me. I was wondering what you guys and gals do when walking to your site. Do you walk in quietly or make noise? I don't want to walk in quietly and have a bear charge me or walk into a grizz the area I am in is pretty brushy so its hard to see anything from a distance. But will making noises while walking to the site scare the bears away for good? Any input would be great. Thanks for the help, learned alot from this site already!

Default Walk quiet

Walk quiet and keep an arrow handy just in case.

Vietnam - June 70 - Feb. 72
    Cancer from Agent Orange - Aug. 25th 2012
    Cancer Survivor - Dec. 14th 2012

Ok, ill do that next time, I was carrying a 300 win. mag today as I wasn't going there to hunt today just check on the bait. Next time i'll have my bow and shotgun with slugs for protection. I just wasn't sure what most do, thanks for the input.

There are way too many brownies around my bait. I walk in making as much noise as possible and with my rifle ready.

Default Slow and quiet

I sling my bow and carry my 12 ga full of slugs(buck shot is for birds) and sneak my way into my stand. I have walked in on black bears and had my partner shoot a black bear before we even got to our stands. Walking in on a Brownie is not alot of fun you just need to be ready just in case you may have to shoot be careful and go slow look around as you walk into your bait and listen you can usually hear a bear at your bait before your at it. Good luck and be prepared! Steve

Default Noise