Thread: canoeing the Little Su

Cool canoeing the Little Su

My hubby and I would like to canoe the Little Su in the next week. I am a very novice canoer, he has canoed up by Circle. Would this be a good time? I do know that generally in spring, due to snow melt, rivers are generally faster moving, but we flew the Little Su yesterday, didn't see any log jams but don't know enough to tell swiftness.The weather sure is nice right now for it tho.Today is the 19th of May.

If you are canoing all the way to burma landing, you will probably have at least one log jam to deal with, about 3/4 of the way down. It is usually opened up by the early travelers so you can float through it. If your husband has any canoing experience then you should be ok. The first time I did it my only experience was in lakes. The river has a 3-4 mph current and has a mild gradient. I think the peak water level has probably passed, and you should have good traveling water. If the water looks chocolate, the the water is high, usually it runs clear in the upper river. If he has experience, have him sit in the back, 95% of the river can be done with only one person paddling from the back. There is some slow water that you will start to get into after 4-6 hours on the water(depending on where you put in and how much paddilinf/floating you do).

Enjoy this little river.
    It ain't about the # of pounds of meat we bring back, nor about how much we spent to go do it. Its about seeing what no one else sees.

http://wouldieatitagainfoodblog.blogspot.com/

Thanks, that was Very helpful! Hope I'm doing this forum talk right. Its the first time I've tried it.

Default Watch out