Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Shrimpers please sink your line

  1. #1
    Sponsor offshore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    159

    Default Shrimpers please sink your line

    I just finished pulling a bunch of poly line from around one of my props. The bouy was in the shipping lane about two miles out of Whittier. I passed the bouy at about 100yds, but the extra poly line was floating just below the surface. I've seen this a few times and have hit it once before. It's much better for all of us if shrimpers attach a few pounds of weight fifty feet down from the bouy.

  2. #2
    Member Rod in Wasilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    um... Wasilla...
    Posts
    826

    Default

    Good info for the uninformed, and a good reminder for the old hands. Leaded line sinks, but Poly line floats and is a hazard to boaters.

    I use Poly line, but I have a lead ball that gets snapped on the free line at about 75 feet below the buoy. It's really works for keeping the poly from floating on the surface.

    Offshore... did you get any contact info off the buoy? If I hit a line I think I'd try to contact the owner and let 'em know that what they're doing is creating a hazard. At the least, they would know why their gear is missing, instead of assuming that somebody stole it.
    Quote Originally Posted by northwestalska
    ... you canít tell stories about the adventures you wished you had done!

  3. #3
    Sponsor potbuilder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Palmer
    Posts
    4,229

    Default

    Just my 2 cents worth on the floating buoylines w/weights. If it were me i'd put the weight further down the line because at 50 or 75 feet the rope after the weight may float back up past the weight and up to the surface, thats if you have a lot of extra buoyline and your not setting in that deep of water or if there isn't too much current moving in the spot your fishing.
    That is all,
    Steve

    Alaska Shrimp Pots

    Rigid & Folding Shrimp & Crab Pots
    Electra Dyne Pot Haulers
    Ropes, Buoys, Bait
    alaskashrimppots.com
    akshrimppots@mtaonline.net
    907 775 1692

  4. #4
    Moderator Paul H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    5,594

    Default

    I have an 800' floating main line, and have weights at 100' and midline. My thinking is with a 600' drop the midline weight will pull most of the slack down, and if it floats shallower the weight at 100' will take up the rest of the slack.

    It's also a reminder to give buoys a wide birth.

  5. #5
    Member Bullelkklr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage Alaska
    Posts
    4,835

    Default sinking

    I use sinking for the top 600'.

  6. #6

    Default

    If you have poly line, I think you could put your weight even as far down from your buoy as the water is deep. I see what Potbuilder is saying. If you're 400 feet deep, have 800 feet of line, and put your weight 100 feet down from your buoy, you'll have the top 100 feet of line weighted down but will have a couple hundred feet of line that could still be floating on the surface.

    The teacher was right when she said that I would one day find an application for math in my life

  7. #7
    Member homerdave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    homer, alaska
    Posts
    3,922

    Question why do you use floating line?

    we crab here in 450'-500' and i don't know anyone who uses floating line.
    is it just to keep your line from fouling on rocks? we have a smooth bottom so all you might snag is a ghost pot unless you are too close to a working pot....
    Alaska Board of Game 2015 tour... "Kicking the can down the road"
    http://www.alaskabackcountryhunters.org/

  8. #8
    Member spoiled one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    3,230

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by homerdave View Post
    we crab here in 450'-500' and i don't know anyone who uses floating line.
    is it just to keep your line from fouling on rocks? we have a smooth bottom so all you might snag is a ghost pot unless you are too close to a working pot....
    That's the reason I use it. I put a 5 pound cod weight on a clip to sink the remainder of the line. I have not had any issues snagging bottom or fouling props.
    Spending my kids' inheritance with them, one adventure at a time.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wasilla
    Posts
    63

    Default

    this is good info. I went out on a friends boat with a couple of pots and noticed that one line sank and the other did not, both were lead line at least thats what the spool said

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EBalaska View Post
    this is good info. I went out on a friends boat with a couple of pots and noticed that one line sank and the other did not, both were lead line at least thats what the spool said
    How can a lead line float???

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Juneau, Alaska, United States
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EBalaska View Post
    this is good info. I went out on a friends boat with a couple of pots and noticed that one line sank and the other did not, both were lead line at least thats what the spool said
    Our shrimp pots have several hundred feet of poly line attached to the pot. The poly line is spliced to another hundred or so feet of lead line attached to the buoy. That might be what your friends are using as well, it's just re wound onto the leadline spool.

  12. #12
    Forum Admin Brian M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Eagle River, AK
    Posts
    13,391

    Default

    My parents used to commercially shrimp in the Sound and always used floating lines with three 1lb weights spaced underneath the buoy. We still do it that way, and have never had a problem. I understand the frustrations expressed here, but it can be done correctly.

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wildog View Post
    How can a lead line float???
    It must be MARINE leaded line to work

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Juneau
    Posts
    459

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by homerdave View Post
    we crab here in 450'-500' and i don't know anyone who uses floating line.
    is it just to keep your line from fouling on rocks? we have a smooth bottom so all you might snag is a ghost pot unless you are too close to a working pot....
    It's cheaper and lighter to start with...

  15. #15

    Default

    I just started last year but I used one set lead line, one poly to see which I prefered. I clipped a 2 lb weight about 100 feet up from the pots and 2, 1 lb weights split between the remainder. They always sank just fine but then again I always fished max depth so there wasn't much spare anyway. I prefered the lead line.

  16. #16
    Sponsor offshore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    159

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rod in Wasilla View Post
    Offshore... did you get any contact info off the buoy? If I hit a line I think I'd try to contact the owner and let 'em know that what they're doing is creating a hazard. At the least, they would know why their gear is missing, instead of assuming that somebody stole it.

    I certainly would have contacted the owner, but the bouy was completely unmarked... I guess that's another issue.

  17. #17

    Default

    Mine are set up with floating poly for the ground line only, with sinking line spliced in the the part that comes up to the surface. Using floating line with additional weights seem like extra stuff to forget or mess with.

  18. #18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by offshore View Post
    I certainly would have contacted the owner, but the bouy was completely unmarked... I guess that's another issue.
    Yeah, you were one Magic Marker from owning another set of gear.

  19. #19
    Member Rod in Wasilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    um... Wasilla...
    Posts
    826

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by potbuilder View Post
    Just my 2 cents ... If it were me i'd put the weight further down the line because at 50 or 75 feet the rope after the weight may float back up past the weight and up to the surface
    Good point for those with long lines or shallow pots. But we have two pots on a 600 foot line. The second pot is 50 feet up from the end, so that makes 550 feet of line coming off the bottom. And since we normally drop 'em ~450 feet deep, that only leaves 100 feet of loose line, even if it came straight up off the bottom. And having the weight 75 feet from the buoy will sink 150 feet of line. So I don't think we'll ever have a problem (we've never had any line floating so far). Also, the weight is on a clip we can move around, so if we were to fish shallow, we can (and do) move the weight down some.

    Of course, it wouldn't hurt anything to have the weight lower on the line either, unless you didn't use enough weight to keep it all down. The bottom line is, you should have enough awareness to avoid creating a hazard, and should be responsible for it if you do.

    And I gotta say, this is one of the great things about this forum. If you don't know how to do something, want to do it right, or just want to do it better, all you have to do is ask and somebody is usually right there willing to give advice and share their experiences.

    Good discussion guys.
    Quote Originally Posted by northwestalska
    ... you canít tell stories about the adventures you wished you had done!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •