Thread: Question for O.T. Guide owners

Default Question for O.T. Guide owners

Just bought an Old Town Guide 147 model. This model is said to provide 'exceptional stability'. It is, by far, the most unstable canoe I've ever paddled. I have previously owned an O.T. Discovery 169, and a 17' Grumman. These were almost untippable (except when standing up, shooting a bowfishing rig ).
    I'm seriously disappointed in this new boat. We've had it out twice, and flipped it two times the first time out in it. I'm no novice, been canoeing for 36 years. Going back to the dealer and see what can be done.
    I'd like to know what your opinions are of this particular model.
    I do prefer being 'on the water' to being 'in' it.

Thank you.
    Jeff

Default Wow

I have had a Guide 147 for several years and canoe/fish/flyfish regularly with my wife, my two daughers (now 11 and 8), and the dog in it. I have the snap in "third seat' and use a sling seat for the other. We have never come close to tipping in this canoe, even in waves on windy days on Kenai Lake. Of course, there have been some squalls which drove us to the beach for it was getting too rough out for a canoe, but I've been very satisfied with the stability of this canoe. It has a wide beam and 900 pound payload, so it is not the fastest thing out there by any means, but I have always found stability its strength.

I wonder if something is wrong with yours?

-hiker

Hiker, thanks for your reply. I'm baffled by this boat. I will talk with the dealer this week, see if she'll take it out on a trial run with me. The dealer owns a rental/outfitting business on the shore of a lake, so that shouldn't be a problem.

Jeff

I've never paddled a Guide 147, but my guess is the short length combined with the flat bottom and hard chines are going to make for great initial stability but probably really lousy secondary stability.