Thread: logs by helicopter

Default logs by helicopter

Has anyone ever or know of anyone having logs delivered to a site by helicopter, and what was the cost like and how much weight can they do?
    015_15.jpg

I was told a longtime ago anything transported by helicopter can not be use for hunting, ever!

A cabin built with logs can not be use for hunting if transported by helicopter.

If you’re looking at a helicopter to deliver logs you must have several tons of money.

I am a helicopter pilot in Southeast. I have never heard that logs cannot be transported for a hunting cabin. We cannot transport any hunters but logs to private prorerty would be possible, though very expensive. An Astar can pick around a ton and would be close to 1800 an hour from where ever they depart from base. A larger and more capable helicopter would be considerably more and usually needs a large job to make it worthwhile. Most likely not a practical solution for you.

read page 17 F&G reg.

"any equipment" a cabin is equipment.

I guess the dozens of cabins in the Mat-Su Valley built by hauling materials are illegal to hunt moose out of? Lodges all over the state are built with materials that are flown in by helicopter. There is NOTHING illegal about it.

I have shipped several customer's materials out by using Northern Pioneer out of Big Lake. Jim has a Huey with a max lift of 3000#. He is an absolute pro and can get the job done quickly. Last year I forklifted logs to stage them for a project that we were supplying. They are easy to fly. Figure 1.8# per board foot. There are numerous board foot calculators on the net that can tell you how many board feet are in your logs. For this project we were able to move 3 logs at a time without any trouble.

Here is a pic of the last pallet of cement being flown into the project above..
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Bunny Boots and Bearcats: Utility Sled Mayhem