Thread: A little help with shrimp

Default A little help with shrimp

I am new to shrimping and have had some luck the last couple of weeks but need "handling and care" help. Do most of you guys divide their tails right on the boat or do you bring them home. If you bring them home is it ok for them to die in transport or does it even matter. Last week they all lived in the fish box all the way home. This week the whole lot of them were dead before we got home. They cant spoil like this can they?

Quote Originally Posted by dirtface View Post
    I am new to shrimping and have had some luck the last couple of weeks but need "handling and care" help. Do most of you guys divide their tails right on the boat or do you bring them home. If you bring them home is it ok for them to die in transport or does it even matter. Last week they all lived in the fish box all the way home. This week the whole lot of them were dead before we got home. They cant spoil like this can they?
    They should be just fine i buy them whole all the time fur feathers guts and all just keep them on ice all the time

I keep the shrimp in a big tub full of salt water and allow them to flush out while I reset my string of pots. I then pull the tails and toss the heads. Make sure not to toss the tails. Them babies are like gold! The tails are then packed in coolers with glacial ice. I have kept them like this for several days without issues. MMMMM...shrimp!
    Spending my kids' inheritance with them, one adventure at a time.

Default shrimping question

Don't mean to hijack this thread but I friend of mine invited me to go shrimping in PWS and was wondering what time of year is best to go? Thanks.

Default I agree with letting them 'purge'...

in some water in a bucket or something for a while, and then we pop the heads and get 'em chillin'.