Thread: Liner or Bivy sack to increase sleep bag temp

Default Liner or Bivy sack to increase sleep bag temp

I have a 20 degree bag that is right on the line of comfort when it gets down to around 30. Want to give myself a little pad. Looking at liners or a bivy sack to increase temp rating just a little. Any recommendations on which way to go.

both will increase your temp rating for your bag. but, unless you are sleeping outside under a tarp or without any covering, i would not use a bivy bag to increase your temp rating. most are waterproof so their ability to breath and let out condensation is poor. a sleeping bag liner is the way to go. check out REI, they carry several. some are poly and some are wool/poly. some folks use them to keep their body oils off their sleeping bag, but i don't see the point of a sleeping bag in the wilderness if you are going to treat it as if it can't get dirty. a washing every now and then will take care of it. they sell thick ones and thinner ones. you should be looking towards the thinner ones. will help you in what you are trying to achieve.

i just saw the above post, and your pad should be looked at as well. a thin ultralight pad will not keep you as warm. good point.
    Last edited by hre814; 05-10-2009 at 19:55. Reason: extra info

There are other ways to increase your warmth rating using the same bag. Possibly using a higher rated pad, wearing additional or warmer garments to bed, or adding a down or insulated jacket inside with you in the bag?