Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Halibut Limits, wow....

Default Halibut Limits, wow....

I figured putting a post up regarding the halibut limits might spark some conversation. Is cutting the limit down to 1 fish (as was announced yesterday from what I understand) going to cut this industry down? How much? Are charter prices going to drop at all? Would you pay $250+ for one fish? I sure as h377 won't. I know it is supposed to sustain the fishery for years to come. Got it. But one fish? Couldn't the fishery be maintained as well with size limitations, seasonal alterations etc? Just my ramblings....

Default Southeast only restriction?

I'm no expert at the regs but wasn't that just for the southeast? Hopefully not southcentral.

I'd like to know where that information is coming from. I cannot find anything on the ADF&G website for Emergency Orders or Press Releases as to this subject.

EDIT, found it in the newsminer:

It is for Southeast ONLY per the newsminer article: http://newsminer.com/news/2009/may/0...mit-1-halibut/

Had to do a good search to find it.

Default just southeast

I think it was on ktuu the other night.

Default Federal Rule

Quote Originally Posted by blybrook View Post
    I'd like to know where that information is coming from. I cannot find anything on the ADF&G website for Emergency Orders or Press Releases as to this subject.

EDIT, found it in the newsminer:

It is for Southeast ONLY per the newsminer article: http://newsminer.com/news/2009/may/0...mit-1-halibut/

Had to do a good search to find it.
    You won't find it on the ADF&G website because it is a federal rule not a state rule. The attached link has all the information:

http://fakr.noaa.gov/newsreleases/20...ibut050609.htm

Ouch! Does this apply to personl boats also? You know...you own a boat and go fishing kind of stuff.
    Alaska Outdoors Television ~ Outdoor Channel

Quote Originally Posted by tdelarm View Post