Thread: ?Bears from Deshka to Alexander???

Default ?Bears from Deshka to Alexander???

We are heading down to the Alexander Memorial Day Weekend for some pike fishing and going to bring the rifles along. This is my first time making the trip from Deshka Landing to the Alexander.

Do we have a good chance of seeing a bear or two along the way?

I saw a nice black bear along the shore on the boat ride to the Deshka a couple years back around memorial day.

Default yukon

yeah you have good chances to see both black and brown bear
    from time to time
    had a friend getting ready to cook dinner on a sand bar just below five finger slew and had a nice brownie charge right out of the woods after him
    it was a nice bear good to keep gun close
    and can see both along to creek as well not for sure what is out yet over there though have a good trip and be safe

Default Smoking Chance

Memorial day weekend is when all the Hooligan are running. Black Bears all over down there. Just take it easy and drift the river and you will find them.

Wink

There is a good possibility for you to find them along that stretch. But as you probably already know, the weekends and especially Memorial Day Weekend are about the worst possible time frame, to hunt. Boat and plane traffic affects their movements greatly. If I were going fishing then, I would carry a rifle. But if I really wanted to hunt, I would stay at home and do chores on the weekend and hunt during the week. The better hunting nowdays is below Alexander, but you are likely to see bears anywhere.
    "96% of all Internet Quotes are suspect and the remaining 4% are fiction."
    ~~Abraham Lincoln~~

Quote Originally Posted by 375ultramag View Post
    Memorial day weekend is when all the Hooligan are running. Black Bears all over down there. Just take it easy and drift the river and you will find them.
    Any one witness Brown or Black Bears eating Hooligan?

yes.....lots of 'em