Thread: New fly fisherman has a question

Default New fly fisherman has a question

I am new to fly fishing, I just got my new setup in the mail. I put the backing on and the fly line on, what is the best way to attach my mono leader to the fly line, and how long should it be?

Thanks

Default knot

I use a nail knot, mono to fly line. The length of your leader varies with the job, as does the leader itself. You should use a tapered leader; this makes casting easier. I might use a 12 foot 5x leader for a very clear lake and small flies, but a 6 foot 0X for reds on the Kenai. I would also use a light rod in the lake and a big stick on the Kenai, so the weight of your rod also has to be factored in. I wouldn't put a 0x or 1x leader on a 3wt rod (I want the leader to break, not the rod, when I snag a rock or salmon tail.) A 9 foot 3x is a good rig for most trout fishing.
    LBenz

Default an option

Instead of a nail knot (pain in the rear for me to tie), I tie a hangmans noose (only about 4-5 wraps) in the leader then run the fly line through the loop, around the leader then back through the loop (opposite the way I initally went into the loop. Kind of like a bowline knot.) Then work the noose up tight and trim the ends with clippers. This knot is low profile, I can tie it in about 30 seconds, and is very strong. I have used it with 6lb - 30lb test leaders and works great for rainbows up to kings.
    AKmud
    http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j96/AKmud/213700RMK1-1.jpg

The porcupine is a peacful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....

Braided Loops! Cortland makes them and they are very strong. I have only had one break on me but it should have been replaced anyway.
    Dave

Thumbs up Easy...tie-fast Tool