Thread: for all you electrical experts... battery switch question

Default for all you electrical experts... battery switch question

Ok, I'm the first to admit that I am no electrician but it seems pretty straight forward. Apparently I'm missing something. I was attempting to replace my battery isolator switch. I connected all positives to the common post then proceeded to connect one battery to post 1 and the second battery to post 2. I connected them just the way the other switch was wired. That said, I switch on to #1 and it works fine. I switch to #2 and nothing. I put the volt meter on the #2 post and it reads 12.6 volts, but when I switch it on it does not charge the common. Could it be that a new switch is bad? It get better, this is why I replaced the original switch it was doing the same thing. I find it hard to believe that both switches would have the same problem. It must be me. Help!!!!!! Weather like this we should all be fishing...

Could be a bad #2 cable or clamp. If the cable is shot you could still show a voltage, but corrosion could be bad enough not to allow current to flow. A digital volt meter will show voltage when there is no available power sometimes. An anolog meter has enough built-in impedence so it doesn't show the "false" voltage. Where are you located?

Default wiring diagram?

I am adding a gps / radar, and pot puller, and want to make sure my 3-way switch is wired correctly. Currently batt. 1 post on the switch has a lead that goes to the battery terminal and one that goes to the windlass, and batt. 2 has a lead the the second battery, this sounds different than the earlier post? Does anyone know a link to a wiring diagram for proper installation, or know a good procedure to test the system to assure the pos. 1 switch does the house and pos. 2 does the motor?

http://forums.iboats.com/Marine-Electronics/Perko Maybe could find answer here? secound one, has a photo, hopes this helps!http://bluewatermarinesvc.com/html/bat_switch.html