Thread: Caribou jerky?

Default Caribou jerky?

So I got my first caribou last weekend and am in the process of butchering it now. My goal is to make much of it into jerky or some kind of snack sticks that can survive shipment unrefrigerated, if possible. My husband is in Iraq and I would like to send him some but of course, they don't have overnight express there and it usually takes about a week for regular priority mail to get there. Does anyone know of any good recipes to use, or how to go about making jerky? I've never done it before and any help would be appreciated. Thanks everyone!

I guess it all depends on the flavor. I like to cut small strips and soak them in dales seasoning in the fridge for a day or two then throw them in a dehydrator. As far as making caribou sticks or snack sticks check with Santas Smokehouse on Davis Rd. I know they make some great sticks and I know they ship but Im not sure if they would ship to Iraq, Im sure dry ice is an option but I think the timeframe will be the decider , the worst they can say is no. Another option is to have them made and wait for one of his buddys to come home on R&R and have them carry them back in a cooler of some sort....please let us all know how you make out. Thanks

Is there a way to dry it enough that it won't spoil being out of the fridge for a week or so? I've heard some of my friends mention it but I'm not sure if that'd make it too dry to eat or what. Thanks again.

I've been real happy with the High Mountain Jerky Cure Pepper Blend. You can get it at the Sportsmans Warehouse. I cut the meat much thinner than the instructions say, and have cooked it in both the oven and a dehydrator. It's always a big hit when I start handing it out.

Cut the meat thin, 'bout 1/2 inch or thinner.
    Put on salt and Pepper while their still naturally "wet" from being cut. Soak them in something, if you like, just drip off any excess.