Thread: Mountain Hardware Sleeping bag

Question Mountain Hardware Sleeping bag

I am looking into purchasing a MH sleeping bag. I was first interested in the Phantom 0 degree bag until I noticed it was goose down. I am now leaning toward the new Ultra Lamina. There is a pound difference between the two, but the down fill worries me. I have always heard that once down is wet, it is useless for a good while, as it takes so long to dry.

Has anyone used either bag or have you any other experience with MH bags. Just some insight to its use...I will be taking it on a sheep hunt in the Brooks this year and after that it will be my go to bag for cool weather.

Any and all input would be appreciated. Thanks for you time, Shane

Default Sleeping bag suggestions

Shane,
    Here are my thoughts: I have been using down bags for pretty much everything for the last 20 years. Unless you submerge your down bag, then jump up and down on it to make sure it is totally saturated, then a damp down bag will not be "useless". It will lose some loft, and insulating capacity. I see you are looking at a zero rated bag. Most sheep hunters would look at a 15 -20 degree rating on their bag.

The MH Phantom 15, Marmot Helium, NF Hightail, WM Versalight/Ultralight/Apache would all be 2 lb or lighter toasty sheep season bags.

If I was doing a float trip, or goat hunt in south east, I would consider a synthetic bag.

Fear of using down bags is just that: a fear. Treat your gear properly, use it right, and understand it's limitations and it will NEVER let you down!

Good luck, have fun, and stay safe! ;-)
    -Chris

Default I Agree

I completely agree with the fake "fear" of down bags. If you are careful about it, you will have no problem with a down bag. They are lighter and more compressible.