Thread: Behind the power curve

Default Behind the power curve

O.K., so I've lived up here for about 5 years now and have become a good self-taught Alaskan angler. I fill the freezer every Summer. I thought that was a pretty easy thing to learn. Now I want to start the hunting adventure. There is soooo much information to wade through on the internet and in the book stores that it is overwhelming.

I have a good selection of rifles, shotguns, and muzzleloaders to use. I have my bear baiting certificate, working on AK muzzleloader certification, and will purchase my hunting license soon.

I am all about subsistance. I have 8 people in my immediate family to feed. This year I would like to put a small black bear or a moose or both in my freezer. I am not interested in trophies, just want a good experience and plenty of meat for the family. That pretty much narrows it down, so now what? I do not want your secrets. I just want to be pointed in the right direction to be sucessfull this year. Any advice will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Eagle River, AK

If you're in the Anchorage/Eagle River area, I'd be happy to sit down with you over a coffee or a beer and discuss some options. Really, the first thing you need to do is become intimately familiar with the hunting regulations. They are very, very specific from area to area and species to species. What is legal in one area might not be legal even a few miles away, depending on the area and time of year. It's complex at first, but once you learn how to read the regs and the maps, it's not too tough to make sure that what you're planning is above board.

A few thoughts: