Thread: Composting

Question Composting

I am new to the composting idea. am i able to use a worm bin up here? what should i do with it during the winter?

Default I use them

I have a couple of worm bins. The worm do best at about 70 degrees. You could keep them outside in a nice sunny spot during the summer, but if you want them to survive you'll have to over winter them in a garage or basement.
    Last edited by Ak Bird Brain; 04-26-2009 at 09:37. Reason: Typos

Smile composting

Thanks,
    but i don't have a garage or basement...i can't bring it in because the dog and cats will get into it. looks like I'm doing the regular way, but thanks anyway

There are wild worm here you might be able to use. It just wouldn't work in the winter.
    I ran one for several years with wild ones but I kept it in a garage.

What kind of stuff do you put in a worm bin? Do you think they would be fine at 50-60 degrees? That is about as warm as I keep my garage in the winter.

Quote Originally Posted by matjpow View Post
    What kind of stuff do you put in a worm bin? Do you think they would be fine at 50-60 degrees? That is about as warm as I keep my garage in the winter.
    I keep my bins in the garage, my garage stays between 55-65 and they do just fine, I've been told they will breed better the closer to 70 you keep them. The better they breed the more they eat. The more they eat, the more they poo great organic fertilizer!
    My bins are started with moist shredded paper, and a couple hand fulls of dirt (they need the grit to aid in digesting). About once a week I add leftover/rotten fruit, veggies or rabbit poo. They can eat anything organic.
    My bins are made out of 14 gallon rubbermaid totes with air holes drilled in them. After feeding for a couple of months I can screen out a 5 gallon bucket of vermicompost.
    Anyone passing through Sterling is welcome to give me a shout if you'd like to check out my set up.