Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Evinrude alarm HELP!

Default Evinrude alarm HELP!

So I finally got the chance to take the boat out today after getting it ready and flushing/testing it at home. It started up great at the dock..peeing water...running smooth...etc When this alarm started going off from the throttle control case. I imediately shut down the engine waited a bit then started it again...no alarm this time.
    So I took it out in the bay and on step WOT ...was running like a champ for about 5 min when the alarm went off again. It was still running great with the alarm sounding..I shut it down took off the cowling, the head were warm but not hot. I tried to start it up again and it would spin but not start. I couldnt keep the primer bulb firm either which I thought was wierd. I eventually gave up and had to kicker it back slowly to the harbor.
    I am very new to boating so hopefully somebody has an idea whats going on? I do not have a manual yet.
    Of course with all the beeping and what not that I heard from then till now I cant remember if it was a constant beep or if it was a beep beep pause beep beep...I will try again tomorrow. Any help would be great!
    Thanks
    Oh and its a 1992 120 hp Evinrude no VRO just premixed with gas

Default Hmmm...

Sounds like the overheat alarm, but you say it's not hot to the touch. Next thought was oil alarm, but you are running mixed.
    Any chance you are able to run it at the house and actually measure the temp of the cylinder heads and monitor them leading up to and of course during the alarm to see if the temp's level off or continue rising? One would believe that if the water is circulating through the "pisser" than it should be cooling the motor as well. Maybe something, dirt/debris or corrosion is restricting some internal water passage within the block.
    Was your motor originally equipped with VRO and someone decided to use mixed gas instead thus it might be sending a false alarm?