Thread: The Big Hammer

Default The Big Hammer

I guess I just want to brag a little on myself but since I have gotten the old smokepole out here lately Ive been tinkering with some new ideas and thought I would see what you guy thought of the latest one. Since having trouble finding conicals around Anchortown I thought to myself I have acces to a fully equipped machine shop and I am a trained machinist so would it really be that hard to make a bullet mould to feed that old frontstuffer. Well it turns out that its harder than one would think but after a little modification of my original blueprint and a few tries I now have a custom made mould for making my own 50 cal bullets. I dont have a working camera dock to load pics from but I will describe the bullets it throws as best I can. When cast of pure lead they come out at .503in, they have 3 grease grooves that are .025 deep and 4 driving bands that are each .125 wide, the nose is kinda semi wadcutterish with a nice wide meplat, and a square shoulder . And here is the best part I didnt do any math to see what they were going to weigh as this started as an experiment, and when I dropped the first one and put it on the scale it wieghed an honest 538.3 grs out of pure lead. I think that this will be a great big game whacker and I intend to find out this year. Anyways I'm giong to go to the range this weekend and try them out to see how they shoot I'll keep you updated. If anyone would like to try them out if they shoot good I can probably arrange to do aa trade or something for a handful, and if you like them I still have the cutter that I built so i may be interested in building a few more mould block sets to sell.

Very easy to find molds i think great gun there on tudor has one they did like 4 months ago and i just googled 50 cal BP mold cablea sells them too.

Quote Originally Posted by The Kid View Post