Thread: Airplane vs Boat

Default Airplane vs Boat

Has anyone else troubled themselves over this choice. I have gone back and forth for a while, between a good (probably new) deep water boat for two to four people, head, overnighter, etc. Or getting a 180 or 185. Can't afford both.

So I go back and forth over which one you could do more with. With the boat, you can do all the fishing, shrimping (I have never done this and want to badly), and also at least deer/bear hunt the PWS area. The airplane, I'm still trying to figure out, beyond the obvious of point A to point B. I don't have a cabin to go back and forth to. Then you have the floats vs wheels issue, at least in the summer. I guess you can get out to a good remote location with an airplane, to hunt or fish, which you can't do with a boat. I fly for a living, and don't need to do a lot of tooling around, although I would enjoy that.

I have a brother coming up this summer for maybe two weeks, that loves to fish, especially the deeper water fishing, and wants to go shrimping. I would enjoy the time doing that with him a lot, and am thinking of spending the bulk of the time in PWS doing the above. I have an Aire Leopard with a 25 horse 2 stroke Tohatsu, and can't even dipnet in that anymore. I used to dip, then take it down to Homer and out halibut fishing. Now we're limited to dipping on a friend's boat, and halibut charters.