Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What caliber did the Navy Seals use?

Default What caliber did the Navy Seals use?

I thought i'd put it up since it might seem interesting to analyze. I'll take a guess that is was a personal choice of caliber by each sniper who took out the Pirates. Something in a .30 caliber cartridge.

My guess is .308 or .223.

Either way, they did a great job. I hope they get to do it again real soon. From the morning news, it appears they will. Another US boat was attacked by machine gun fire and grenades.
    The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.

I wondered about that too. I assumed (I have no knowledge) that it was at least a .308. I would not want to be shooting through a window at 70 yds trying to headshoot someone standing next ot a hostage with a .223.

308 win, 168gr Sierra's

+1 on .308
    "A dog has no use for fancy cars or big homes or designer clothes. Status symbol means nothing to him. A waterlogged stick will do just fine." Marley and Me

Default "Representative list"...

One of these? List at:

http://www.navyseals.com/weapons-demo

Default one of these three

From Navyseals.com

Sniper Rifles
    M14 Sniper Rifle (7.62mm)
    MK11 Mod 0 Sniper Weapon System (7.62mm)
    M82A1 Heavy Sniper Rifle (.50 cal)

Mod 700 SA, Bull Barrel 22", A4 Mc Stock, Fast Loc Pin, Unertl Scope!

Default 308

great job by those boys, but cant help but wonder. 4 bad guys 3 dead, did one of the seals miss?? cant see them leaving one bad guy alive? still great job, sounds like they might be busy over there for awhile

Quote Originally Posted by yukon254 View Post
    great job by those boys, but cant help but wonder. 4 bad guys 3 dead, did one of the seals miss?? cant see them leaving one bad guy alive? still great job, sounds like they might be busy over there for awhile