Thread: Itching for Breakup

Default Itching for Breakup

I know it may be a little early but Im really getting the spring itch, because I just got my first raft. Im looking for recommendations on a good shake down run in the Wasilla area (about of a day to start with). Im quite new to rafting and have an Aire Cougar (176) raft. Therefore being new to the sport, Im not looking for any thing to difficult. Just a creek that the wife and I can do to get the oars wet. It has been a wonderful winter, but for me it has been a long winter waiting for the rivers to thaw out and Im ready to get out floating. Thanks in advance for any recommendations.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Default Little Su.

You can start at the bridge on the glenn highway and float down to millers landing (only about 1 hr) or look at google earth and find a few other spots to take out, I can't remember them all, but one has a boat ramp at the end of a dirt road, it's about 5 hrs or so to there. There's a few others, little willow, willow, ect, with the same type of class 1 water.

Chris

Hey bear if you float the little su I know you can get out on Millers Reach Rd its got a little dirt boat ramp thats were I put in when I float to Burma instead of putting in at the parks hwy it saves me a few hours on my float .The Willow River is nice float but last year it had some sweepers and a tight squeeze log jam have fun.

Default Thanks

Thanks Chris and Gamegitter,

I'm sure gettting excited to get started and this sure helps.

Hope to see everyone on the rivers this year.

Bear Necessities

GameGitter,
    I've heard the Alaska River Guide I think shows the float from Parks to Burma as two days in your experience what is it really. I've heard the float times in there are conservative?

Default liittle sue float