Thread: Grumman ?'s

Default Grumman ?'s

I recently (last fall) got a Grumman canoe and have a few questions I hope you all can help me figure out. It is (if I measured correctly) 20ft. long and is a double ender.

It has had a couple of the braces that run across it removed, should they be replaced?

I had it out a couple times last fall and it seems to take on a little water. No holes that I could see and I suspect it might be some of the rivits as I think this is a pretty old canoe. What is the best (and least expensive) way to fix this? Does that glove it stuff work?

Is there a bracket available to mount a small outboard on this and what hp. would you recommend?

How do you tell what year it was made?

Sorry to ask all these questions at once but I could sure use your help. I'm new to canoes (since boy scouts anyway) and could use all the help I could get. Thanks in advance!

I too have a Grumman (17') and by no means an expert so look out! I would look into the removed parts and the water leak issue. Ours has two Thwarts, one that is right behind the front seat and the other is just forward of the rear seat. These are part of the canoes structure and should be there. Maybe this is part of the reason for the leaks?
    As for the motor mounts, yes there are motor mounts for canoes. I have one that I doubt I'll be using so if your interested let me know.. These clamp to the side of the canoe and can accept light weight motors.

Grumman made a side mount that worked great.
    Tim

Goose,

The length is measured in a straight line.....not over any curves.....

Yes, the thwarts should be replaced as they are an integral part of the canoe.

Most leaks can be stopped by bucking the rivets....place a heavy steel object against one rivet head and tap the other end of the rivet smartly with a hammer....you may have to do a lot of them and a buddy comes in handy here.

Thanks for the replies! I really appreiciate the help.

Vern: