Thread: Weldcraft Maverick and Sabre

Default Weldcraft Maverick and Sabre

I'd like some help. I've been shopping the boats for a couple months, and am pretty sure what design & size boat I want. I'm not set on Manufacturer's (like the Ford vs. Chevy battle).

There are Mavericks and a Sabre for sale, and to my eyes, their bow designs look more like a river boat design than one that would work well in salt water over here in Kodiak. The Sabre looks less suited for open water than the Maverick.

I don't want a boat that will slap the waves and pound the occupants. What can you tell me from first hand experience about these two models.

Thank you very much for all responses!
    Mike

I had a Sabre HT with an inboard jet. It was an awesome boat for the rivers, and worked well in the ocean when the waves weren't too big. It was very fast on the water, and handled like a dream!! But, it would beat you up a bit if the waves got big. The wife and I decided we liked the ocean better than the rivers, so we sold it for an ocean boat.

If you are going to buy a combo boat, for rivers and the ocean...I would not be afraid of the Sabre. If you are looking to stay in the ocean, I would opt for a deeper boat.

Hope this helps....AkBillyBow
    2007 Glacier Bay Cat 2690 Coastal Runner, Twin Honda 150's

It helps a lot AkBillyBow! I suspected they'd bow slap a bit in larger seas, but thought I should check for someone with first had experience.

They sure look sleek, which is good for running rivers, but I was afraid the ocean performance would suffer.

Thanks again!
    Mike