Thread: Kicker question- 2 vs 4 stroke

Default Kicker question- 2 vs 4 stroke

I'm new to boating and have a question/ advice for you seasoned pros. I've been looking to buy a kicker for the 22' Osprey I bought. I've been looking strictly at 4 strokes (9.9hp and 15hp) but a buddy has a great deal on a 15hp 2-stroke/ 10' zodiac combo for about the same price as a used 9.9 4-stroke. The boat came with a 8' dingy and my plan was to paddle to shore when we wanted to stop and explore and have the 4 stroke for trolling. If I bought the 2-stroke/ zodiac combo, I could use to motor for the Zodiac and to troll. I guess my question is if it was up to you, which route would you go? I plan on making regular shore trips... is it worth mixing my gas and switching the motor from the boat to the Zodiac for power to shore? Any advice would be appreciated.

If you plan to troll with the kicker I would go 4-stroke. Economy, noise, and lack of mixing are all good points for a 4-stroke. Does your buddies 2-stroke have a longshaft? An Osprey is going to have a pretty tall transom and you will likely need a longshaft to get a good bite. 8 horse or better will get you along fine.

Anchorage Alaska

Default number

just give me you buddy's number and I will get the dingy and 2 stroke - then you won't have to bother with wondering...

Honestly though - if it is going to save you some bean - mixing gas correctly is not that hard. Get a couple 1.5 gallon cans and pre-mix them at home and take them with you for when your tank needs adding to. Mix accurately per manufactures recomendations before you leave. Add them to your tank as needed.

Palmer, AK