Thread: Newb question

Question Newb question

I'm just getting started in this whole reloading thing and have a few questions, but I'll only ask one for now...Is it a reasonable practice to use a different bullet to work up a load instead of the actual bullet you will use for the final product? For example, can I expect the performance from a Hornady 55 gr fmj BT wc and a Hornady 55 gr Vmax to be the same with identical case prep and powder loads, or will the BT profile be enough of a difference to have different results than the Vmax? I can get the fmj BT wc as a bulk bullet considerably cheaper than the Vmax and of course would like to experiment with the cheaper bullet before finalizing a load.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

They will be different.

For example, I worked up a load in .308Win with Barnes 168gr tipped TSX and tried that load with Barnes 165gr MRX. The bullets have a different bearing surface and ballistic coefficient.

The MRX's were pretty good but fine tuning made them real good. The COL was .025 less and the load was .3gr more to achieve best results.

no
    the bullets you mention have vastly different ogives and will react differently in your gun
    each bullet stands alone
    OTOH there are "the load" for those bullets in the 223 in both gas guns and bolt guns that will put you in the ball park. Someone else has done all the work across a varity of powders,

Start low with charges.

see http://www.desertsharpshooters.com/m...incredload.pdf
    20 bullets of each can sort it out for you under this method

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

Default well since this is the NEWB thread..

do you need the differnt book for each brand of bullet?

Barnes, hornady, speer all have differnt loads and grains behind them... some really Differ with the same powder.. some by 2-4 grains per??????

DOES the Bullet make THAT much difference?