Thread: Info On Fishing In July

Default Info On Fishing In July

A newbie here posting for the first time from Ohio. We will be in the Soldotna/Kenai area on July 16 & 17, 2009 and are looking into booking a day trip fishing for two. Both of us are avid bass fishermen and are wanting to experience what the fishing is all about in Alaska. We are not sure which kind of trip we should try, Halibut or river fishing for Salmon. What is "running" that time of year? What would you recommend for this one time shot. Any guide recommendations? We are open to any suggestions, thanks advice for your replies.

Steve in Ohio

Steve - Welcome aboard! There are hundreds of threads on fishing in the Soldotna/Kenai area, so spend a few hours and do some reading - you'll get a much fuller picture that way. Include Kasilof/Ninilchik/Anchor Point/Homer in your searches as well, as you're within ~1hr of those places while in Soldotna.

My thoughts? I would book a king salmon charter one morning on the Kenai, fish for red salmon (sockeye) on your own from the bank that afternoon and then book a halibut/ling cod combo charter out of Homer the next day. I don't have any specific recommendations out of Homer, but I'd contact yukon (his screen name here - send a PM to "yukon") for your king charter.

July, that is a terrible time to fish on the Penninsula. Just kidding seems like Brian has some great suggestions, your trouble might be shipping all the fish back home! Good Luck

The end of July is the best time to catch kings on the Kenai River, and July also has some really good halibut fishing out of Homer.

Default Forget the Kenai

Go to Seward and book a charter to Poney Cove for silvers. Limit of 6 and the action should be hot. Ill be there.

Default Great Timing