Thread: Roller vs. Bunk trailers

Default Roller vs. Bunk trailers

Good morning.

Is there any advantage of one type of trailer vs another when using in Alaskan coastal water? I realize the weight of boat is more evenly distributed on a bunk trailer. But I was wondering whether launching and retrieving, trailering, etc is easier on one vs. the other.

Thanks for your time in advance.

Regards,

yhc

Default what I know...?

Advantages and/or disadvantages.... I'm curious to hear info from folks that have more experience than I...

I have limited experience with both.

As for the rollers: The first boat I ever owned had rollers. It was a light fiberglass lake boat. What I can say is that launching and loading was EASY... I only need the back of the trailer to be close to the water and I could do either. If I could get the winch hooked up loading was done! I had some troubles loading at first but it's becuase I made the mistake of backing the trailer in too far. It really does not have to be in the water very deep.

As for bunks: My 20' Aluminum is on bunks. I have not owned it long enough to really get a feal for it but it seems to be easy enough. I just need to get the hang of it all....

I've heard rollers have allowed the boat to roll off the trailer onto the ramp in come cases... But really this is more operator error.

If done correctly I think rollers are better... But what do I know...???

I've always had bunks (24-ft glass boat) and like the support they provide. Launching has never been a problem. Retrieval has been. If the boat is heavy, it can be a chore to winch the boat up onto the bunks. Silicon spray on the bunks can help, though. You could just back further into the water, but then there's less of a chance that the boat will center itself and you may not find this out until you've pulled it out of the water.