Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kayak sail

Default Kayak sail

Has anyone here used a sail on a Kayak?
    I have no sailing experience at all and would like to hear about it and how it works
    max
    When you come to a fork in the trail, take it!

Rentals for Canoes, Kayaks, Rafts, boats serving the Kenai canoe trail system and the Kenai river for over 15 years. www.alaskacanoetrips.com

Default No keel

To support a mast you require keel or dagger board, like a traditional sailboat. Or a spread hull, like a hobie cat. A kayak would tip right over without any counter-balance.
    Outdoor Directory - Recreation and Outdoor Links - Submit your outdoor site for FREE
    Billings MT - Montana News, events, and reviews
    Montana Events Calendar - Statewide event calendar

Default Australia / New Zealand

" I beg to differ"
    ( as my neighbor Bobs Ex wife used to say )
    Cpearson, these boats have neither dagger board or Keel, just the basic rudder that comes with most Sea kayaks. I never saw any of them flip.

I saw a bunch of kayaks in New Zealand that were rigged with sails, and thought it was pretty neat Idea. These are usually rudder type sea kayaks. They have many designs of sails and most are homemade. I was surprised at how fast they travel.
    Max
    Last edited by Alaskacanoe; 10-26-2006 at 00:50. Reason: spelling

Rentals for Canoes, Kayaks, Rafts, boats serving the Kenai canoe trail system and the Kenai river for over 15 years. www.alaskacanoetrips.com

Default incredible

Those are great pictures. I would never have thought it possible. As a kayaker and beginning sailor I find this very interesting. They look hard to wright.
    Outdoor Directory - Recreation and Outdoor Links - Submit your outdoor site for FREE
    Billings MT - Montana News, events, and reviews
    Montana Events Calendar - Statewide event calendar