Thread: Hunting near Wasilla?

Default Hunting near Wasilla?

I just moved to hopefully Wasilla/ maybe Anchorage from Ohio last week. I'll of course be an out of state hunter this fall. What are some of the better hunting opportunities open to a guy willing to work hard, with some funds (read not unlimited), and unknown time off at this point. As an out of stater what can I do? What do I have a reasonable chance at? Should I stick to the small game and fishing for a year until I'm a resident or are there other options? Thanks for any input.

Brett

Black bear would be a good option for you. Do some reading here about 14A and 14C black bear hunts. If you're willing to climb mountains to above treeline in late fall, you should have a great chance of getting a black bear that is feeding on blueberries - which makes excellent eating, I might add.

Welcome to Alaska and to the site!

Default Wasilla Hunting

Brett,
    There are a lot of lakes and rivers around here. You're going to love it!
    My husband moved up here from Wisconsin and waited the 1st hunting season out and just fished. But he was chomping at the bit to get his sites on something. Around here (wasilla) you really don't have to go too far if you're not picky. There are black bear all over those mountains you see. Good Luck and Welcome to the Forum
    Jess

Thanks. Black bears were in my mind for sure, but I wasn't sure how feasable it wound be. What are some good resources for learning about black bear hunting in the Wasilla area. I'm willing to read and do what I need to, but I'm not sure what that is?

Default Resource

Hang in there,
    You'll learn a lot from this forum.
    I would check out http://www.wildlife.alaska.gov for the regs for this area and see if it tickles your fancy.
    Jess