Thread: Locktite and shellac on rings and bases?

Default Locktite and shellac on rings and bases?

I'm going to be putting a new scope as well as rings and bases on my .338 mag. in a few weeks, and was looking for any advice and recommendations as to using locktite on all the screws on the bases and rings, and using shellac on the rings and scope to keep it in place.
    I have a tube of Devcon Thread Locker (does the same thing as Locktite), and was considering whether to use it on all the screws when mounting the bases and rings. Is there any downsides to using thread lockers on bases and rings?
    Also, several members on this forum have recommended the use of shellac (specifically Indian Head Gasket Shellac). Putting a light coating of the liquid inside the rings and on the scope where they would be contacting each other when tightened, to help insure that the scope doesn't move. This sounds like a good idea, but I have no experience with using shellac, has anyone tried this method? How did it work. Also, if I were to replace the scope later, does the shellac come off easily? Thanks for the help.

I am by no means an expert at scope mounting, however, when I needed to mount a scope I did a lot of research and the answer that I came up with is probably no. Leupold recommends only using a little bit of oil on the screw threads. The oil actually helps keep them in place. On the other hand, a lot of people with far more experience than me say you should loctite on the screws. Most of my reading has never mentioned using any kind of shellac on the rings to keep the scope in place.

I would suggest mounting it without using loctite and see if you have any problems. If you do need to use it, use some of the lightest stuff possible like blue or purple. I put a scope on my Ruger No. 1 in .30-06 and a CZ 550 in .375 H&H without using any and have had no problems with about 300 rounds through the No. 1 and 150 through the CZ 550 before I traded it.