Thread: Hunting Grizz Off Denali Highway

Default Hunting Grizz Off Denali Highway

So with the warmer weather I am itching to get out and do some bear hunting. I plan on heading down the second or third week of april. I have never done this hunt before but we plan on taking the mountain sleds and finding a good valley and heading up into it. Thinking about going in the tangle lakes area maybe. Does anyone have a suggestion as to where to look for bears?

Thanks
    Carl

want info tooo bump....

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

Quote Originally Posted by AKCarl View Post
    So with the warmer weather I am itching to get out and do some bear hunting. I plan on heading down the second or third week of april. I have never done this hunt before but we plan on taking the mountain sleds and finding a good valley and heading up into it. Thinking about going in the tangle lakes area maybe. Does anyone have a suggestion as to where to look for bears?

Thanks
    Carl
    i would guess you are heading in from the paxton end? i would stop a the lodge and talk to the locals.. they always have a few they wish to be done with. and a lot of guys ride to from there and Mclarian lodge and report bears sitings...
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here

Your time frame is probably a little too early for that area. If possible you might want to try a week or two later. I'm planning a trip from the Cantwell side around the first or second week of May.

Be prepared for the worse. The snow storms in the mountains there are nothing to laugh about. Following you GPS is a whiteout through mountain terrain when you can't see past the skis on your snowmachine is very nerve wracking. I've seen it go from +45 in the day to -30 that same night.