Thread: Govt rules for airplane travel with firearms

Default Govt rules for airplane travel with firearms

Flying with your guns and ammo?

Thes two web sites cover the Government rules.

Airlines also have thier own rules.

Might be good to print all these off and have them with you when your travel.

http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/airtrav...rial_1666.shtm

http://safetravel.dot.gov/index_ammunition.html

This question is asked so often your post should be made a permanent sticky.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

I fly with firearms several times per year. My solution is a pelican case with two locks and disassembled firearms inside. For shotguns I just break it down and pack with the barrel removed. Revolvers I remove the cylinder. Rifles, remove the bolt whether it is bolt action, lever action, or semi auto. Pistols, remove the slide. I leave all of the parts in the same pelican case and it usually contains more than one firearm. This works for me in every airport that I have been through. What I have found is there is someone working for TSA in every airport that understands and can identify parts of a gun. When they x-ray a near bomb proof pelican case that has two locks containing disassembled firearms they just don't give it a second look.

Dan

RMK

Default Good Advice Dan

Dan has offered some good advice in his post. He is correct that every bag, including those with guns gets run through an X-ray.

It's pretty easy to see that a gun is unloaded, and or, partially disassembled. Don't forget to properly package the ammo. TSA with not accept loaded magazines even if they're removed from the gun and inside the locked box.