Thread: new to bow hunting

Default new to bow hunting

Hello, I just picked up a used Martin Firehawk bow today and wonndering what if anything I should do first. I have no experience with bows, just thought it seemed like a good deal and I have always had an interest in shooting a bow. Do I need to have the pull adjusted to my size or any thing like that? Thanks for the help.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

first thing you should do is take it to a shop and have it adjusted to YOUR draw leangth... and have the knock ( if has one) adjusted as well any peeps or other..( i am guessing this is compound) have the string looked over and get some instruction on how it works and DOES AND DON"T on shooting abow... LIKE NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER dry fire you bow..( with out an arrow). in short get you and it a health check... and start spending some $$$$ you will also need arrows cut to your draw..have fun it is addicting and great exercise.
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here

I see from your addy that you are from the Soldatna area. Do a Search on this forum for AKNimrod...he lives in your neck of the woods. Best bow *teacher* I ever had. Does not matter if you shoot a compound, recurve, or long Bow, I bet Pat can help you down the right road!
    "...and then Jack chopped down the beanstock, adding murder and ecological vandalism to the theft, enticement and vandalism charges already mentioned, but he got away with it and lived happily ever after without so much as a guilty twinge about what he had done. Which proves that you can be excused just about anything if you're a hero, because no one asks the inconvenient questions." Terry Pratchett's The Hogfather

thanx Roger STUDENTS SHOULD NOT OUT SHOOT THEIR " TEACHER"