Thread: Merc outboards

Default Merc outboards

At the risk of starting a brand name war what is the word on Merc outboards. I have been looking at various river boats and noticed quite a few have Merc's. Now I admit I have no knowledge but have heard not great things about them. Is it a particular generation that is a problem or is it simply a brand preference or ?
    Thank you. akraven

Chugiak, Alaska, United States, United States

any of the mercs ive been around or owned along with a mariner i owned ran great. my uncle in southeast that builds boats equips his builds with mercs and swears by them. if I was buying a new outboard though id get a yami.

I love my Mercury 4-stroke EFI...quiet is an understatement and I`ve never had an outboard that started by just barely bumping the key. BTW...the only problem I`ve had was a vacuum hose coming off which caused a high-idle condition.

Petty much boils down to where you are for preference and service. Spend some time in the lower 48 and you`ll find mainly Mercs and e-tecs, here you have a Yamaha following. They all work fine.

I bought my first Optimax last year (200). When we ran to the Koyukuk to moose hunt I used less fuel than the Etec and Honda in our group. Only complaint is the Optimax makes more noise than the other two.
    Tennessee

Thank you for the replies guys. Turns out I just found a nice boat today with a Yamaha so I am pretty happy. I have always heard good about the Yamaha's and he kept this one immaculate. Thank you again. akraven

PS IF you need reliable service on a Yamaha in the Valley who is any good?

Default About the moose hunt...