Thread: Fly Line

Default Fly Line

I'm looking for recomendations on some good fly lines--for intermediate sinking, and sinking (fast sinking?) lines. Only experience I have is with floating lines.

Any recomendations on brands for these types of lines? There's so many out there, it's hard to know what's good.

Thanks!

Default Rio Versi-tip

Depends on your applications, but I used Rio's Versitip for several years with good results and still like the idea of a sinktip better than sinking fly lines, which are necessary for some (salt?) waters , but not for any fishing I do (trout, char, grayling, salmon, steelhead).

What's bad about a multi-tip (changeable tip) line is the hinge effect - the loop:loop connection between the sinktip and the rest of the flyline - which bothers some. I'm no expert, but found that especially when fishing weighted flies (usually), that was not a problem. I would buy Rio's product again without hesitation.

Good luck.

I don't know where you are located, but Mountian View Sports had some Rio and Scientific Anglers Mastery series lines on clearance. There were several multi tip lines there too. Might be worth a look if you are near town.
    It ain't about the # of pounds of meat we bring back, nor about how much we spent to go do it. Its about seeing what no one else sees.

http://wouldieatitagainfoodblog.blogspot.com/

Like 6XLeech says, it will depend on the application.