Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Grizz hunting...

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

Default Grizz hunting...

Okay so this year i decided that i am going after a grizz with my bow.... I shoot a Martin MV2 at 65lb. and 3 blade muzzy 125grains.

i have plenty of bear experience, and know my quarry fairly well. what i would like to know is some of the issues guys have had bow hunting a grizz... what worked what didn't.... i plan on part of the time hunting from a stand along side my creek they travel... and doing a stalk if necessary. I have 4 bears to thin this spring... the Wife and i are shooting for two of them... when it comes to stalking i will be solo as usual. like i said I know my bears and i Know the landscape... just looking for tips to make it the best i can..
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here

Hey Vince, if you need a hand with bear #3 or #4...

I'm also planning to chase one with a bow this year. I'll likely give it a shot in the fall when they open up an archery-only hunt close to home, but I might try this spring further north.

I would like to get one under my belt with a rifle before trying my trusty Hoyt..Good Luck.

Is it legal when using a bow or muzzle loader to carry a pistol for backup.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

Quote Originally Posted by starmac View Post
    Is it legal when using a bow or muzzle loader to carry a pistol for backup.
    it is NOT illegal to carry it... however when on a weapons restricted hunt you MAY NOT use it to give a final blow to a downed animal. or dispatch a charging one except in DLP.
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here