Thread: Blisters?

Default Blisters?

So my dads buddy has a problem that he wants help with. he keeps getting blisters on the bottom of his feet i guess. i have NO experience with blisters really. im not even sure ive heard much about blisters on the bottom of your feet. he wears cabelas alaskan hunters (meindl). i personally think his boots are a little big on him maybe? only because he went up like a half size in those boots compared to all his other shoes. i went down a half size in those boots compared to normal. well anyhow, any recommended socks or powders or switching the liner to the outside of the main sock or anything. oh and he switched to orange superfeet last year and it didnt help.

Default Friction?

Blisters usually from friction in footwear.
    Could be boots- wrong size makes sense. Or wrong fit; some shoe/boot makers use a last (form) that is too different from my foot creating hot spots.

...or bulky seams in socks - flat seams best esp at toes
    Some wear a light liner sock under heavier wool sock - any friction from the boot will pull on the outer sock. The inner sock glides with your foot.

Good luck.

I am with 6XLeech,

Likely poor fitting boots. Almost guaranteed I would say.

Also, does he wear the often?

Are the properly broke in?

Big variable here. And socks choices are important. Can't give much advice here as I don't hike much, but others will chime in on this. Read in a recent post about socks. Can't remember the name of the thread, but check out this past weeks worth of post here on the gear forum. I read it recently. Be sure to have him take some moleskin on future trips too

Below is a very active thread (30 post) from the Backpacker Magazine Forum. I will put the link below, but if it does not work, go to Backpacker Magazine website, then "Community" which is the forums, then select the "Health and Fitness" forum and this is on the first page. Tons of info on hiking of course at that forum.