Thread: Tug-of-War

Default Tug-of-War

I am new to the dog training and have a 13wk old choco lab. that I plan to use mainly for a buddy but been doin some dummy work lately. I heard its not a good idea to play tug-of-war with the pooch if you're plannin on using it for birds. He always drops the dummy on command. I see him playing t-o-w with our other dog (a Schnauzer) quite a bit lately.

Is it ok for them to play t-o-w when its just them?

Thanks for the help!

With other dogs is ok. But definitely not with you. Use that drop command just like you've got started.
    One thing to keep in mind as your pup gets older. I've seen some dogs that play tug of war impulsively with other dogs. Doing so will wear down there teeth prematurely. Fractured and broken teeth can result as well. Some of these broken teeth can cause extreme discomfort to the dog depending on how much of the tooth root has been exposed.
    Just make sure the play is in moderation, but if they are wrestling around tugging each other around for quite some time you might want to break it up. Just to keep them from hurting each other.
    In a few weeks your pup will out grow the Schnauzer any way.

Default black and white

WL is right as his method does minimize conflicts. I am more lax now than I used to be. Back in the days of competing and training 10 to 12 times per week, I never played the game.
    I myself make play time for the pup, and tug of war is one of the games we play. I do wait until they are a bit older and have some good retrieving time behind them. I never use items we throw for the dogs though. We never play tug of war with retrieved items.
    You just need to decide what you want to control, and how you'll do it. If you are inexperienced as indicated, then go with what WL said. Just don't get into the game, and you won't develop any problems.