Thread: Ruger M77 Hawkeye Tactical .308

Default Ruger M77 Hawkeye Tactical .308

Just got around to shooting this rifle today with a box of Black Hills 175gr HPBT Match ammo.

I haven't decided on a scope yet so I borrowed the Leupold VX-III 6.5-20x50LRT from my AR style .308.

After the normal routine of shoot and clean for the first ten rounds while zeroing the scope at 2" high at 100yards I started shooting groups between cleanings.

This rifle has a 20" heavy barrel with a 1:10 twist. I figured heavier .308 bullets should work out well, good guess...

The first four shot group at 100yards measured .210 center to center. I moved a target out to 200 yards and was pleasantly surprised at a three shot .580 group. Only 17 rounds were fired through this rifle today.

Ruger has had a bad rep for quality in the past. I think things are looking up. I am very pleased with this .308, I look forward to hand loading quality hunting bullets for some lower forty eight deer and elk.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Default "update please"

"UPDATE PLEASE" Ruger M77 Hawkeye Tactical .308

JFloat,

I've had some other projects going on lately. I've been helping some friends develop loads for their 375H&H, 300RUM, 308 Rem 700, 204 Ruger, 30-30 and 270 Win. I've always been the kind of guy that helps out and my stuff has fallen on the back burner. I'm getting caught up and plan to work with this rifle soon. I've picked up a few samples of bullets and plan to try Berger 175gr VLD first. I will update this post with results in a few weeks.

Overall I'm extremly pleased with this rilfes first few shots and look forward to tweaking with hand loads.

marshall

Very good groups and says a lot for Black Hills Ammo
    A GUN WRITER NEEDS:
    THE MIND OF A SCHOLAR
    THE HEART OF A CHILD
    THE HIDE OF A RHINOCEROS

Quote Originally Posted by beartooth View Post
    Very good groups and says a lot for Black Hills Ammo