Thread: R Kabin

Thumbs up R Kabin

http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...attach/jpg.gif

We're movin' in this Spring!
    Attached Images Attached Images

That is a real nice cabin, what are the dimensions of it, I'm looking at something of similar design. What did you use for the footings?

Thanks

Default kabin

it's 16x32. I PUT 12 FOOT WALLS IN SO I COULD DROP THE (1/2)LOFT FLOOR 3 1/2 FEET & HAVE PLENTY OF HEAD ROOM. EVERY THING IS ON 16" CENTERS, SO IT'S PRETTY STURDY. USED 6X6 TREATED FOR SUPPORTS(3 IN CENTER & 5 DOWN EACH SIDE ON 8' CENTERS) & WRAPED THEM WITH HEAVY PLY PLASTIC & SET THEM 4 1/2' IN THE GROUND ON TOP OF 2"X8"DIA. CONCRETE "WAFERS". IT'S SET FOR 4 YEARS NOW & NEVER MOVED. COURSE I HAD MY DOSE OF SKEPTICS, BUT THEY WERE PROVED WRONG. CROSS BRACING CORNERS IS A MUST. MY WIFE SAY'S I BUILT IT THAT WAY CAUSE I'M TALL, BUT I LIKE "HEADROOM" AND I HAVE PLENTY OF ROOM FOR MY "CRITTERS". I'M AN IRONWORKER BY TRADE, SO IT TURNED OUT PRETTY GOOD DOING IT MYSELF (& MY WIFE), SAVING LOTS OF $$$$. A FEW PLUSES BUILDING IT THIS WAY.WHEN I CLEAN THE STOVE (WHICH I MADE) OF ASHES, I SIMPLY OPEN THE TRAP ON THE UNDERSIDE OF STOVE & SCRAPE THE ASHES DOWN A 3" CHUTE THROUGH THE FLOOR ARRIVING IN A 55 GALLON DRUM UNDER THE CABIN.DON'T KNOW HOW LONG IT WILL TAKE TO FILL YET. THE ONLY WAY BEARS CAN GET IN IS THROUGH THE FRONT WHICH WE "BOARD UP" IN BEGINNING OF WINTER. DON'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT "CRITTERS" LIVING UNDER YOUR CABIN WHERE YOU CAN'T GET TO. THIS SPRING WERE BUILDING A SHED NEXT TO CABIN FOR SHOWER& LAUNDRY ETC.WE HAVE PLENTY OF WHITE SPRUCE TO GO THE LOG ROUTE, BUT I CONVINCED MY WIFE IT'S TOO LABOR INTENSIVE. BESIDES, WE'LL NEVER HAVE TO HAUL FIREWOOD.

Talking Are you pulling...

our leg? That cabin is 16 wide?Looking at the door and knowing it is 3', I would of guessed no more than 14'.Nice looking cabin.What area are you folks in?GR

Default r kabin

must be the way i took the pic. but it's definitely 16x32. we are in unit 11. LS