Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rosin or rubber cement on rings?

Default Rosin or rubber cement on rings?

I will soon be mounting a scope on my .338 Mag and was looking for advice on what I should apply to the inside of the rings to help insure that the scope remains solidly in place once mounted. I have no experience with rosin at all, and have only tried using rubber/multi-purpose cement once. I was disappointed with the small amount of cement that actually remained in the rings and further diappointed by how little if any helf it seemed to give. Are their other additives out their? Which of these two would you recommend? etc. Thanks.

I would recommend nothing at all, just clean dry mettle to mettle without any goop at all.

Andy

Default Never used anything

I have never used anything inside the rings. I make sure there is no lubricate on the inside surfaces and that they are properly tightened. If you are using good quality rings, there should be no problem.

Default TRY liquid electrical tape

Clean the scope and the bases with denatured alcohol then apply a drop of liquid electrical tape to the bottom base then place the scope and apply another drop to the scope before mounting the top half ! tighten the screws and wipe off anything that squirts out !Kevin

You should not have to use any extra adhesive. All scope rings are made to hold your scope in place.

If your scope is moving with your current set-up; I have two suggestions that could fix the problem.

Check the scope and ring diameter to ensure they are the same. The two most common sixes are 1 inch and 30mm. It is very hard to actually tell the difference unless the two different sizes are next to each other. I only use 30mm stuff myself.