Thread: fox barking

Default fox barking

I am new to predator hunting in this great state. I have lived here ten years and finally decided to try my luck. I have hunted predators in Montana where I grew up. My style of hunting there was to drive until I saw one and then shoot it. I have become more interested in calling. I was at Eureka last weekend and saw a fox on the Little Nelchina. I got a few shots off with my .17 HMR but no luck. The fox ran a safe distance away up a mountain. I was able to watch him with my binos. I could also hear him bark. He would bark twice, wait a few minutes, bark twice again. He would continue doing that. What does that mean? What is the best resource for me to learn about their behavior and vocalizations? I would appreciate any help all of you could offer.

He/she was probably locating it's mate, it is that time of year for them. Talk to the biologists at adf&g about behavior, they are a good resource and people don't seem to take advantage of their knowledge.

Mike

I just have one question. What were you doing shooting at a fox when they closed Feb 28th?

Quote Originally Posted by akrider View Post
    I am new to predator hunting in this great state. I have lived here ten years and finally decided to try my luck. I have hunted predators in Montana where I grew up. My style of hunting there was to drive until I saw one and then shoot it. I have become more interested in calling. I was at Eureka last weekend and saw a fox on the Little Nelchina. I got a few shots off with my .17 HMR but no luck. The fox ran a safe distance away up a mountain. I was able to watch him with my binos. I could also hear him bark. He would bark twice, wait a few minutes, bark twice again. He would continue doing that. What does that mean? What is the best resource for me to learn about their behavior and vocalizations? I would appreciate any help all of you could offer.